Tom Huizenga http://wunc.org en Alaskan Composer Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://wunc.org/post/alaskan-composer-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/120995813/john-luther-adams" target="_blank">John Luther Adams</a>, whose music is inspired by — and sometimes <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAk527M-INA">performed in</a> — natural landscapes, has <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/citation/2014-Music" target="_blank">won the Pulitzer Prize</a> for music for his symphonic work <em>Become Ocean<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGIEvUOf-JU"></a></em>. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:43:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 33809 at http://wunc.org Alaskan Composer Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' Joseph Calleja: Tiny Desk Concert http://wunc.org/post/joseph-calleja-tiny-desk-concert Malta, the island nation 50 miles south of Sicily, may be small, but it's home to one of the biggest stars in opera, tenor Joseph Calleja. And like his country's name, which may originate in the Greek word for honey, Calleja's voice is a potent mix of Italianate passion and sweetness. Just listen to how he pulls the volume back to a slender golden ray of tone several times in Tosti's gorgeous "Ideale," and especially the word "disciogliea" in the Puccini aria that closes this performance. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 18:44:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 32595 at http://wunc.org Joseph Calleja: Tiny Desk Concert A Kid Named Carl Stirs Up The Bach Musical Dynasty http://wunc.org/post/kid-named-carl-stirs-bach-musical-dynasty When it comes to musical dynasties, it's tough to top the Bach family. From town fiddlers to court composers, the Bachs dominated German music for seven generations. Today, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15031897/johann-sebastian-bach" target="_blank">Johann Sebastian</a> towers above all his relatives, but there's another important Bach we shouldn't forget — especially today, on the 300th anniversary of his birth.<p>Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, C.P.E. Sat, 08 Mar 2014 12:53:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 31719 at http://wunc.org A Kid Named Carl Stirs Up The Bach Musical Dynasty Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 http://wunc.org/post/robert-ashley-operas-misunderstood-innovator-dies-83 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQBpire6jhw</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 17:59:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 31487 at http://wunc.org Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 New Music Shines at Classical Grammy Awards http://wunc.org/post/new-music-shines-classical-grammy-awards <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aJF5uoU7fI</p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 16:10:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 29569 at http://wunc.org New Music Shines at Classical Grammy Awards Inspiration Or Embarrassment? Lang Lang And Metallica Teaming Up At Grammys http://wunc.org/post/inspiration-or-embarrassment-lang-lang-and-metallica-teaming-grammys Odd musical mergers in the Grammy Awards telecast are nothing new — remember <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24MD-v0IgYA" target="_blank">Paul McCartney, Linkin Park and Jay-Z</a> singing "Yesterday?" Still, when thrash metal band <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15730259" target="_blank">Metallica</a> and classical pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=17022256" target="_blank">Lang Lang</a> take the stage together Sunday night, it may seem more like a head-scratcher than a clever match.<p>Or will it?<p>Metallica <a href="ht Fri, 24 Jan 2014 13:44:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 29431 at http://wunc.org Inspiration Or Embarrassment? Lang Lang And Metallica Teaming Up At Grammys Note To 'Downton Abbey' Viewers: Nellie Melba Was A Big Deal http://wunc.org/post/note-downton-abbey-viewers-nellie-melba-was-big-deal <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEhr_3E3XEA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpdvoMFSqKY</p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 29124 at http://wunc.org Note To 'Downton Abbey' Viewers: Nellie Melba Was A Big Deal Van-Anh Vanessa Vo: Tiny Desk Concert http://wunc.org/post/van-anh-vanessa-vo-tiny-desk-concert Van-Anh Vanessa Vo is a veteran when it comes to taking risks, and it pays off in her compelling music. As a young girl in Vietnam, she knew she wanted to be a traditional musician, even though it was a world dominated by men. It was risky, then, when she pestered a master teacher for three years to give her lessons. He finally gave in, taking her on as an apprentice.<p>Vo also takes risks in blending East with West in her music. She lends a trippy sound to Frenchman Erik Satie's Gnossienne No. 3, performed on the <em>dan Bau</em>, the traditional Vietnamese monocord. Sat, 04 Jan 2014 13:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 28407 at http://wunc.org Van-Anh Vanessa Vo: Tiny Desk Concert Kronos Quartet: Tiny Desk Concert http://wunc.org/post/kronos-quartet-tiny-desk-concert Sunny Yang joined <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14983141/kronos-quartet">Kronos Quartet</a> in June 2013. Now, just five months later, the cellist she says she's learned quite a few new works — not just a handful, but about 70 pieces.<p>That degree of dedication to contemporary composers, coupled with an insane concert schedule, has propelled Kronos Quartet forward over the past four decades. Mon, 25 Nov 2013 19:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 26366 at http://wunc.org Kronos Quartet: Tiny Desk Concert The Sound of Struggle Tempered With Terror: Penderecki At 80 http://wunc.org/post/sound-struggle-tempered-terror-penderecki-80 There's a beguiling photo of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/91634817/krzysztof-penderecki" target="_blank">Krzysztof Penderecki</a>, who turns 80 today, inside the brochure of this week's Warsaw <a href="http://www.beethoven.org.pl/en/innefestiwale/thekrzysztofpendereckifestival2013" target="_blank">music festival</a> that bears his name. Sat, 23 Nov 2013 13:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 26285 at http://wunc.org The Sound of Struggle Tempered With Terror: Penderecki At 80