Jeff Lunden http://wunc.org en New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://wunc.org/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:28:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 37866 at http://wunc.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung http://wunc.org/post/while-broadway-sings-its-praise-wigmaker-remains-unsung Every time you see a Broadway show, chances are a lot of the actors are wearing wigs.<p>Sunday night at the 68<sup>th</sup> Annual Tony Awards, Broadway's highest honors will be presented in a ceremony at Radio City Music Hall. Awards will go to actors, actresses, set and lighting designers, but <em>not</em> the people who make the wigs the stars wear, even though the wigs are an essential part of theater craft.<p>Essential, and yet often invisible, says Jason P. Sun, 08 Jun 2014 12:06:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 36910 at http://wunc.org While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://wunc.org/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35187 at http://wunc.org Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool Daniel Radcliffe's 'Crippled' Role Reaches Out To The Remote http://wunc.org/post/daniel-radcliffes-crippled-role-reaches-out-remote Even before he finished his eight-film run as Harry Potter, actor Daniel Radcliffe spent a considerable time devoted to the stage, both in London and New York. He appeared on Broadway in <em>Equus</em> and spent a year playing J. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 14:49:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 34114 at http://wunc.org Daniel Radcliffe's 'Crippled' Role Reaches Out To The Remote 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://wunc.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 29935 at http://wunc.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://wunc.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 28350 at http://wunc.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://wunc.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 27524 at http://wunc.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come Here's A Wild Idea For Shakespeare: Do It His Way http://wunc.org/post/heres-wild-idea-shakespeare-do-it-his-way This season, New York audiences have seen wildly different interpretations of Shakespeare plays. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 05:00:59 +0000 Jeff Lunden 25581 at http://wunc.org Here's A Wild Idea For Shakespeare: Do It His Way Energetic, Intimate 'Letters' Reveal Private Leonard Bernstein http://wunc.org/post/energetic-intimate-letters-reveal-private-leonard-bernstein <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15234027/leonard-bernstein" target="_blank">Leonard Bernstein</a> was a singular American genius. One of the great orchestra conductors of the 20th Century, he was also a composer of hit musicals like <em>West Side Story</em>, as well as symphonies and ballets. He was a teacher and television personality — his Young People's Concerts introduced generations of children to classical music.<p>But that was the public man. A new collection of letters written both by and to Bernstein is being published this week. Sun, 27 Oct 2013 09:48:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 24787 at http://wunc.org Energetic, Intimate 'Letters' Reveal Private Leonard Bernstein Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://wunc.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:05:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 23453 at http://wunc.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors